top of page

GUY WOLFF POTTERY


For the past two weeks we've been dealing with some pretty serious flooding in Southern New Brunswick. While our street and basement are covered in water, our yard is not, but the ground is saturated and too wet for planting.

So for now, I'm focusing on giving our yard colour with flower pots. My generous mother has lent Jake and I two wicker hanging baskets for our side porch, and two round, low terracotta pots. She also gave us a great big white glazed pot for our front porch. On top of that, we have four other terracotta pots, so we're building a pretty great collection!

Both porches get shade most of the day, so we'll plant begonia, viola, impatiens and double impatiens.

I most prefer the look of aged terracotta pots, and have found them really hard to come by. In my search, I came across Guy Wolff Pottery.


Wolff is based in Bantam, Connecticut and has been turning pottery since 1971.


The Roped Arch pot, inspired by nineteenth-century English baskets, starting at $24 USD.


The Peabody pot, starting at $90 USD.

He's known for both his red and white clay pots, and is favoured by Martha Stewart.


Inspired by eighteenth- and nineteenth-century English flower pots, Wolff digs up the clay himself, shapes and decorates by hand in a traditional style, then signs and stamps it. His pots are then fired at 2,000 degrees.


I'm not planning a trip to Connecticut anytime soon, and Wolff's flower pots are definitely aspirational for Jake and I. For now, I'll try and find the next best thing - locally. I'll let you know what I turn up in my search!


bottom of page