top of page

WE OPENED A SHOP!


In now very typical fashion, it’s been a long time since my last post. The end of winter is near, so I’m feeling inspired. Jake and I just got back from a beautiful vitamin d-drenched week in Florida with my family, and we’re off to the south of France at the end of April with Jake’s family. Heaven is in the headlights!

Last summer was glorious and hot but fall came quickly. With the change of season came our sweet new niece, Una, daughter of Jake’s sister Mercy. A few weeks before her due date, my mother-in-law and I threw a cake-themed baby shower. It was great fun preparing/hosting even though I spent nearly three hours on the lemon coconut layer cake you'll see directly to the left of those lanky and lovely fall blooms. Luckily my mother swooped in just as I was about to give up on the Swiss meringue buttercream icing and saved the cake from a common frost. Blessings.


As a gift, I wanted to give Mercy and baby something really special. I’ve always loved Beatrix Potter and so I asked my very talented husband to do a Peter Rabbit illustration. He whipped one up in no time and I took my watercolours to his reproduction.


Mercy seemed to love it and my sister, who was in attendance, said that before she had her last baby, she had been on Etsy looking for something just like what we had produced, but had no luck finding something similar. With that, an idea struck. We opened an Etsy shop of our own two weeks later called RC Works & Co. that offers a variety of Beatrix Potter reproductions. Benjamin Bunny clutching his blanket and root veg is my personal favourite.





We’ve had good success with the shop, and I find myself really enjoying the customer service aspect. We offer digital downloads or you can purchase original reproductions. We're hoping to expand in the near future by offering archival prints through a third-party distributor.

I'm also considering the possibility of adding decoupage eggs like the one below into the mix, but those are very time consuming and will likely cost a pretty penny so I need to do more research before I dive into that one.


Thoughts on the eggs? Let me know!

bottom of page